Blog tour: Dead End Q&A with Rachel Lynch

Book spotlight

Dead End
by Rachel Lynch
Canelo

Previous Books in the D.I. Kelly Porter series:

Dark Game
Deep Fear

Genre:

Crime/thriller

Release Date:

8 October, 2018

My review:

Dead End: Another stunner! 

dead end.jpg

Here’s my in-depth Q&A with Rachel Lynch:

  1. I felt that this book had an almost equal split between Kelly’s personal life and work life. When writing Dead End, what was your main focus? The crime Kelly was investigating or her personal development? 
    Hello! Your questions really have me thinking and here we go… Well, I always like to have a balance between Kelly’s professional and private life because that is who she is. She’s a private person with no kids, so she can focus on her job more than a mum might be able to, for example. I like the balance in all the books and Kelly constantly surprises me. The plot needs to be prominent too, though, so the crimes are always central.
  2. I really enjoyed your use of the victims’ POVs within the narrative as well as the detectives. What were your reasons for choosing to include this element, and is it something that you would do in the future?
    I loved writing these, and it’s something that I will do again. I thought it added real atmosphere and tension and gave the victims a personality for the reader to empathise with.
  3. When reading your novels, I often think about the fact that you must have so many ideas in your head all the time. How do you choose the ones that make it into each storyline, as there are always 2/3 crimes which interweave?
    That’s a good one! I don’t set out intentionally to include several interweaving crimes, they just usually happen that way when I get started. I like a multi-faceted plot, so it keeps my blood pumping too! You’re right, I do have many plots running through my thoughts all the time, especially when I went back home to The Lake District this summer: they were jumping out all over the place!
  4. How many more books can we expect to see in this series?
    I’ve signed for 6. I’d like to write more than that. I think Kelly can do anything and go anywhere.
  5. Do you think that Kelly could travel elsewhere in future novels?
    I love the Lake District, but also feel that I would enjoy seeing her in a variety of settings; perhaps being called in by a team from a nearby city to shake things up.
    I absolutely agree. The setting of Number four is new but still in the Lakes, but Number five is a belter!
  6. I really enjoyed seeing Kelly’s sister’s progression and how she is handling the aftermath of the previous book. How do you plan on developing Kelly’s family/friend circle in future books?
    Nikki is something Kelly needs to get over, and until she does, she won’t feel free. She deals with a lot of this in number four. (No spoiler intended).
  7. What are you currently working on?
    Number five and loving every minute.
  8. What is the one book you want to write that you haven’t seen on the shelves?That’s tough as I don’t obsess about what’s on the shelves. If I did that, it would change the way I write from what’s inside me to what I think people might want, and that’s unhelpful for a writer of fiction. I think, going back to question 6, seeing Kelly in demand elsewhere is something I want to do.

Thank you so much, Rachel for taking part in this question and answer session for the blog tour. I cannot wait to read more about Kelly!

Book Blurb:

When the seventh Earl of Lowesdale is found hanging from the rafters at Wasdale Hall, everyone assumes the aging, hard-partying aristocrat had finally had enough of chasing the glory of his youth. But when the coroner finds signs of foul play, DI Kelly Porter is swept into a luxurious world where secrets and lies dominate.

At the same time, two young hikers go missing and it’s up to Kelly to lead the search. But digging deeper reveals ties to two other unsolved disappearances and Kelly and her team find themselves in a race against time.

Now, as all roads of both investigations and Kelly’s own family secrets lead to Wasdale Hall it becomes more important than ever for Kelly to discover the devious truths hidden behind the walls of the Lake District’s most exclusive estate…

Don’t miss this gripping crime thriller featuring an unforgettable detective. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Patricia Gibney and Robert Bryndza.

Links to Book: 

Amazon (UK)

Kobo (UK)

Google Books (UK)

Apple Books (UK)

Author Bio:

Rachel Lynch grew up in Cumbria and the lakes and fells are never far away from her. London pulled her away to teach History and marry an Army Officer, whom she followed around the globe for thirteen years. A change of career after children led to personal training and sports therapy, but writing was always the overwhelming force driving the future. The human capacity for compassion as well as its descent into the brutal and murky world of crime are fundamental to her work.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Pug Cafe

Famous Dog Events

Author Joanne Reed

This is Your Quest - Your Mission to Find Happiness

Always Trust In Books

Great reads, book news, blog sharing and plenty of bookish banter!

Chrikaru Reads

Books, languages and learning, from a reading teacher.

Rosie Writes...

Writer of fiction, Book blogger, Autistic, Probably a Dragon, Owned by Hell Hounds

%d bloggers like this: